IoT Central User Roles – Atmosphere IoT

IoT Central Roles


 

 

IoT Central Roles: A named collection of user permissions. All users on the platform must be assigned exactly one role.

All roles are limited to accessing their own organizations and any sub-organizations.

 

Permissions Tables

 

The following tables below outline what a user of a particular role can and cannot do in the system.

 

Organizations

 

 

Role View Modify Add Sub-Orgs Move Sub-Orgs Delete Sub-Orgs

Administrator

Manager

Technician

Basic User

    √

    √

    √

    √

      √

      √

      –

      –

           √

           –

           –

           –

           √

           –

           –

           –

                √

                –

                –

                –

View: The ability to view devices that are accessible to the user. This also means being able to view the device’s dashboard, view it’s current settings, and the ability to view the errors, execution, and the history of settings applied the device.

Modify: The ability to modify device details for devices accessible to the user. Details concern but are not limited to: the device name, physical address, image, amongst others. This also means being able to modify the device ‘s dashboard and device settings.

Add Devices: The ability to add devices at the user’s organization and below.

Move Devices: The ability to move devices between the user’s organization, the ones underneath it, and between those sub-organizations.

Delete Devices: The ability to delete devices at the user’s organization and below.

 

Users

 

Role View  Modify  Add Users   Move Users   Delete Users
Administrator   √      √        √          √    √
Manager   √      √        √          √    √
Technician   √      –        –          –    –
Basic User   √      –        –          –    –

View: The ability to view users at the user’s organization and below.

Modify: The ability to modify users at the user’s organization and below. This also means the ability to change other users’ roles. If this is the case, a user may not change the role to one higher than the current role assigned to said user.

Add Users: The ability to add users to the user’s organization and below.

Move Users: The ability to move users between the user’s organization, the ones underneath it, and between those sub-organizations.

Delete Users: The ability to delete users in the user’s organization and below.

 

 

Dashboard Widgets

 
 
Role  View  Add Widgets  Configure Widgets  Delete Widgets
Administrator      √        √                 √              √ 
Manager      √        √                 √              √ 
Technician      √        –                  –               – 
Basic User      √        –                  –               – 

 

View: The ability to view organization and device dashboards that are accessible at or beneath the user’s organization.

Add Widgets: The ability to add dashboard widgets to the user’s organization and below, as well as adding widgets to device dashboards accessible by the user.

Configure Widgets: The ability to modify organization and device dashboards that are accessible at or beneath the user’s organization. Configuration in this case meaning the ability to change widget settings at the time of, and once they have been added to the dashboard.

Delete Widgets: The ability to remove dashboard widgets from the user’s organization and below, as well as adding widgets to device dashboards accessible by the user.

 

 

Administrator Role

 

The Administrator role serves as the top level user within an organization and all of its sub-organizations. They can manage all aspects of the organization including the ability to Add Sub-Organizations, Move Sub-Organizations and Delete Sub-Organizations, Add users, Change the Role of users, Move users to other organizations and Delete users.

The Administrator role can also Add Devices, Edit Devices and Delete Devices.

Manager Role

 

The Manager role serves as the top user management role in an organisation. They can Add Users, Change the Role of Users, Move Users to other sub-organisations and Delete Users.

The Manager role can also View devices, but cannot Add, Edit or Delete them.

Technician Role

 

The Technician role specializes in Devices. They have the ability to Add Devices, Edit Devices and Delete Devices within their organization and sub-organizations.

The Technician role cannot manage users or organizations. They can view their organization and its users.

Basic User Role

 

The Basic User role has View Only access to its own and sub-organizations and their devices.